IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Norton Security Issue with Version 1.0, Norton Security Issue
Brian
post Dec 13 2015, 07:55 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-December 15
Member No.: 2,432



I've used your bot program for several years. Thanks for the continued efforts.

I downloaded version 1.0 on 12/13/15 from http://rcbot.bots-united.com/. Double-clicking rcbot2installer causes Norton Security to intervene, flag the file as medium risk, stop the install, and automatically delete the file. The code is:

WS.Reputation.1

It then does the same for these two files:

rcbot2meta.dll
metamod.2.ep2v.dll

Is this a Norton issue? Do the files need to be registered with Norton?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post Dec 13 2015, 11:59 PM
Post #2


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 856
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



Hey Brian,

Welcome to the RCbot forum... Perhaps this will help...

http://community.norton.com/forums/clarifi...tion1-detection

You can disable that feature of Norton temporarily, to install rcbot. At the bottom of that page it says this :

QUOTE
- If you find you need to download a lot of low-reputation items, you can always toggle Download Insight on and off in the main Norton GUI window.

There is such a low number of rcbot users worldwide, rcbot probably barely shows up on their reputation system. How many symantec users did it show, under 10, under 20?

In all the years I have used rcbot, I have never found a virus in rcbot. You could submit the files to symantec, if it bothers you? They will find them clean, and maybe that will help with the reputation for a while? wink.gif

There is a dispute process, but the link on that page seems bad...?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Dec 23 2015, 07:39 AM
Post #3


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



LOL @ Norton! it's a false positive so don't worry about it.
Just add the files to Norton's exclusion list or something.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2019 - 08:56 AM