IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Waypoint type for doors in DOD:S, Specifically the new dod_omaha (2019) map.
d3m0n
post Aug 14 2019, 07:20 AM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 2-May 14
Member No.: 2,333



I am currently creating waypoints for a new release of dod_omaha (2019).

The problem I am running into is this map uses a lot of doors to get through the map. I read through the waypoint readme and looked on waypoint type but didn't see anything for using doors. Specifically speaking, using the action button to open it.

Is there something I can do to get bots to use doors or am I out of luck?

IPB Image

IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post Aug 14 2019, 08:39 PM
Post #2


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 845
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



Yeah, functioning doors might be a problem, I don't think I've waypointed a map that has them? There is no "door" wpt that I know of... I remember genmac modifying a map because of doors, but I think Cheeseh added some door code after that? Try doing:

CODE
"rcbot util search"

on the doors & post what it finds...

Look for func_button or func_door, it probably needs that for the code to work...

It's not likely, but check for func_breakable, too. (breakable waypoints?)

You could put openslater on the doors, if there is an alternate path, but it doesn't sound like there is? sad.gif

[edit] If there is a func_button or door, do you hear them try to press use key? I see the wpt looks very close to the door and bot is crouched, you might try moving the wpt away from the door a bit, a step or two, so the bot has time to react & press use key and is facing the door. I've had problems with other bots & doors (sometimes it's finicky doors), when a bot can't seem to open the door when they get to close, before pressing use, or against the door (facing wrong perhaps).

Important: Before moving the wpt, Be sure you have one path only through the door.

Hope that helps? wink.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
d3m0n
post Aug 15 2019, 06:53 AM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 2-May 14
Member No.: 2,333



Thanks for the detailed response madmax! This is what I could find regarding the doors with the rcbot ulti search command.

QUOTE
[RCBot] (145) D:97.95 C:'prop_door_rotating', Mid:195, Mn:'models/cscgroupe/props/gg_blockhausbunker/bunkerdoor01_body.mdl' Health=0, Tm:0, Fl:36, Spd=0.00

Though, I am not sure how I would use that with waypoint type? Or does it mean it should technically be working properly?

I also don't hear them trying to use the action button.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post Aug 15 2019, 07:27 PM
Post #4


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 845
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



There is nothing you could do, it would need to be coded, and I doubt 'prop_door_rotating' has been coded?

I'm guessing func_door or func_button is allready coded (but perhaps not?), so the absence of those on the doors means bots won't press use key. Looking in the forums, I can't confirm that door or button support was ever added for dods. I found 1 topic that would give you some background on doors...

http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index....51&hl=doors

You could try the lift waypoint, but that will tell the bot to look for a button, which is not there, so I doubt that will do anything? In This topic here:

http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index....35&hl=doors

The only other option I can think of would be to remove the doors from the map, like genmac did, Which doesn't really solve the issue...

Can you think of any other maps that have doors without buttons, to open them? genmac listed these door maps, but they may have buttons, i haven't looked at them in a long time?

dod_U471_b2
dod_titanic_1912

Maybe Cheeseh will see this and give you a better answer than I can.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
d3m0n
post Aug 16 2019, 06:55 AM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 2-May 14
Member No.: 2,333



Yea, the 'prop_door_rotating' looks like custom code from the map designer.

Even having doors in DOD:S seem a bit odd to me. I got in contact with the map designer and they're adamant about keeping the doors in. I did try using the lift waypoint but it didn't seem to work either. I may have another go at it. I also tried teleport waypoint which seems like the only one that works but it actually teleports them to the next waypoint.. with the door staying closed. So it half works but it didn't seem like they continued to follow the waypoints after teleporting. Again, I'll do so more research into that.

It may be futile trying to do waypoint for this map though it's pretty badass since it's new.

Thanks for all the helpful information though. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th August 2019 - 02:09 PM