IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dod_goodwood_b3 + 1
genmac
post Jan 31 2013, 02:52 AM
Post #1


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



Dod_goodwood_b3 ....it's a dod_caen remake but much smoother gameplay and wider paths.
Made 2 types of wpts for it. One snipers and mg nest and one without.
Wpts ain't fully elaborated yet since the bots can't plant bombs on walls yet but still I had fun playing with them.

I also tweaked dod_goodwood_b3 flag entities so bots will easily cap them
that's why I've added it on this little wpts release, it seems to have some entity settings the bot can't recognize easily yet.

Also a bonus small map/wpts I'm sure most of you have seen before hehe.

Download ...
http://www.mediafire.com/?xbp9euosj61avxl
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Jan 31 2013, 08:26 AM
Post #2


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(genmac @ Jan 31 2013, 03:52 AM) *

Dod_goodwood_b3 ....it's a dod_caen remake but much smoother gameplay and wider paths.
Made 2 types of wpts for it. One snipers and mg nest and one without.
Wpts ain't fully elaborated yet since the bots can't plant bombs on walls yet but still I had fun playing with them.

I also tweaked dod_goodwood_b3 flag entities so bots will easily cap them
that's why I've added it on this little wpts release, it seems to have some entity settings the bot can't recognize easily yet.

Also a bonus small map/wpts I'm sure most of you have seen before hehe.

Download ...
http://www.mediafire.com/?xbp9euosj61avxl


Great. I've got bots planting bombs on walls now, I added a 'bombtoopen' waypoint , but haven't release yet, I will do so soon so waypointers can make them work.

In the mean time I'll have a look at this map, add the bombtoopen waypoints and if it works ok i'll release the bot hehe
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Jan 31 2013, 10:03 AM
Post #3


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



Cool!!!

Would you like to check out dod_strand? wpts for it are almost done but some of the objectives allies bots can't seem to plant bombs except one.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 5 2013, 02:04 PM
Post #4


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(genmac @ Jan 31 2013, 11:03 AM) *

Cool!!!

Would you like to check out dod_strand? wpts for it are almost done but some of the objectives allies bots can't seem to plant bombs except one.


Hey genmac I havent tried dod_strand yet, but i guess maybe the bot program could not find the bombs for the cap, i will try it before I release the next version. If u have a good download link I could use that one or ill searb my self smile.gif"
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Feb 5 2013, 11:51 PM
Post #5


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



QUOTE(Cheeseh @ Feb 5 2013, 02:04 PM) *

Hey genmac I havent tried dod_strand yet, but i guess maybe the bot program could not find the bombs for the cap, i will try it before I release the next version. If u have a good download link I could use that one or ill searb my self smile.gif"

here's link for dod_strand
http://dods.gamebanana.com/maps/16085

wpts here but not really done yet but may be it will help for testing purpose.

Dod_peliliu has some weird flags/dod_capture_area entities the bot can't seem to recognize
dunno why some custom maps are like that may be you should check this out as well.
It's fully wpted but had to edit those entities so bot can cap them when they simply touch the wpts.
http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1712

dod_peleliu unmodified...
http://www.17buddies.net/17b2/View/Map/411...peleliu_b4.html


Attached File(s)
Attached File  dod_strand_incomplete_wpts.rar ( 3.23k ) Number of downloads: 171
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 6 2013, 02:26 AM
Post #6


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



I think some custom maps aren't mapped the same as the stock maps, e.g. the capture point (flag) is no where near the actual bomb point , so the bot gets confused, i increased the search sitance and they seem to find it now. They can plant all the bombs. I added bombtoopen waypoints and a few times the allies won without my help. hehe
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Feb 6 2013, 03:08 AM
Post #7


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



cool! that's for dod_strand right?
how about pelelius flags?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 6 2013, 04:53 AM
Post #8


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(genmac @ Feb 6 2013, 04:08 AM) *

cool! that's for dod_strand right?
how about pelelius flags?


hey genmac, yeah that was for dod_strand. I'll have a look at the pelelius map tonight
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Feb 6 2013, 11:46 PM
Post #9


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



Yeah plz check it out coz I've encountered quite a number of maps already with that kind of problem.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 7 2013, 12:36 AM
Post #10


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(genmac @ Feb 7 2013, 12:46 AM) *

Yeah plz check it out coz I've encountered quite a number of maps already with that kind of problem.


Ok because that map has bombs and flags, the bots are confused, looking at it now..

I don't really get the map myself. The axis can't capture the flags at all?

Anyway I made some changes and the allies can capture and bomb everything, but the axis can't defend for toffee as they are trying to capture points!

The map is maybe not set up properly if axis can't capture. In the CDODObjectiveResource entity, m_iAxisReqCappers for each flag is 1 , which means axis should be able to capture in the bots eye's,
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Feb 7 2013, 11:50 AM
Post #11


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



I've double check the entities and it seems the map author decided the axis not capturing flags by default. So I think it's ok if you made the allies capturing them now without changing the numbers of soldiers capturing and amount of time to capture it.

Some dods map really needs some tweaks as most of this mappers didn't forseen bot support probably.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 9 2013, 01:55 AM
Post #12


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(genmac @ Feb 7 2013, 12:50 PM) *

I've double check the entities and it seems the map author decided the axis not capturing flags by default. So I think it's ok if you made the allies capturing them now without changing the numbers of soldiers capturing and amount of time to capture it.

Some dods map really needs some tweaks as most of this mappers didn't forseen bot support probably.


I've made an update (0.71) on the download page on sourceforge/forum/main page you can find the link.

I forgot to mention that flag/bomb detection was fixed in the new version
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Feb 9 2013, 01:34 PM
Post #13


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



Got it and It's awesome!

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Mar 25 2017, 11:58 PM
Post #14


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



Here's a vid....it's a fun server bot set-up...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puJiskM9IPc...eature=youtu.be
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emotional
post Apr 5 2017, 01:42 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 5-March 13
Member No.: 2,260



Nice video, genmac! You do not do more wpts for dods?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post Apr 8 2017, 07:34 PM
Post #16


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 856
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



QUOTE(Emotional @ Apr 5 2017, 06:42 AM) *

Nice video, genmac! You do not do more wpts for dods?

Good video, looks like a speedrun, and lots of nades, lol...

It's been a while, glad to see you guys are still around smile.gif . I haven't had much time for games the last few months, and Spring is already here now...

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post May 27 2017, 11:26 AM
Post #17


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



QUOTE(Emotional @ Apr 5 2017, 01:42 PM) *

Nice video, genmac! You do not do more wpts for dods?

None yet but I do miss making wpts.
Probably if I find an interesting dods map I'll try wpt it...do you have any suggestions?

@Madmax...hehe yeah I'm using infinite stamina plugin hehe my usual wacky set-up.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emotional
post May 28 2017, 11:31 AM
Post #18


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 5-March 13
Member No.: 2,260



madmax2
I'm also glad to see you smile.gif

Genmac
Hmm, I suggest that map list, some maps still have no wpts sad.gif http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index....amp;#entry11947
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post May 28 2017, 06:43 PM
Post #19


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 856
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



QUOTE(genmac @ May 27 2017, 04:26 AM) *

None yet but I do miss making wpts.
Probably if I find an interesting dods map I'll try wpt it...do you have any suggestions?

@Madmax...hehe yeah I'm using infinite stamina plugin hehe my usual wacky set-up.

Also, did you ever wpt dod_campazzo_final? How about doing campazzo, it looks cool from the images, or is there some problem with it? Should we add it to our list? I did download the map but have not looked at it yet. I will probably do dod_rive_rc3 or dod_schlag first? Still want to look at a few more maps before I decide... The weather finally got nice here after 6 months of rain rain rain, so I need to get outside & enjoy some sun, & do some work, first. tongue.gif

@ Anybody wink.gif
I would probably consider others ones on the list, like dod_switchback_b1 or dod_palazzo_b5, but I'm looking for an easy map for the first wpt, I feel time constrained these days blink.gif . I'd like to wpt maps that are needed for public servers, too.

Are all the maps in our list really the best ones? Insane's dodbits custom mappacks seem to have a lot of great looking maps, but only a few have been waypointed...?

[Edit] I should add that game play and a maps replay factor should be just as important as looks. Since I never have the chance to play these maps online, and reviews are hard to find, I find myself having to guess as to whether a map has a good replay factor, and will it work well with bots? It would be nice to get some feedback on these maps, as to the game play?

So i've resorted to looking at online game server lists to see what maps in our list are actually being played. So far I have not seen any that were populated with players, but I did see dod_rive_rc3, dod_switchback_b1, dod_palazzo_b5, and I think dod_calais, in a rotation. It would be useful to hear from some of the server admins, as to what dods maps are popular on their servers, that they would like to see waypointed...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post Jun 6 2017, 06:29 PM
Post #20


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 856
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



Sorry, I've been silent about this and have not done anything since my last post. It will take me a while longer before I can start a waypoint, to much RL stuff going right now. Hard to give a time frame, I might start a wpt, but then it may get set aside for a week or two. Hopefully, this month??? Sorta, getting off-topic here, maybe I'll move my posts when I have time?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2019 - 02:54 AM