IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> [Download] RCBot2 (TF2, HL2:DM, DOD:S)
RoboCop
post Jun 11 2017, 10:59 AM
Post #1


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 192
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



https://github.com/APGRoboCop/rcbot2/releases <<-----Downloads Here

# RCBot2 for Windows and Linux (TF2, HL2:DM, DOD:S)

## Information

This is a fork of [the official RCBot2 plugin][rcbot2] written by Cheeseh.

[bots-united.com discord]: https://discord.gg/BbxR5wY

## Changes from upstream

- Build process uses [AMBuild][] instead of `make` or Visual Studio. This removes the need for
Valve's cross platform make conversion tool and keeping copies of modified Source SDK files.
- The plugin has been split into SDK-specific builds to ensure proper compatibility, using the
same loader shim SourceMod uses to load mod-specific builds.
- The shim is named `RCBot2Meta` to maintain compatibility with existing files; mod-specific
plugins are named `rcbot.2.${MOD}`.
- The `sdk-split` branch only contains modifications to get the project running on the
new build tooling and SDK support without issues. It should be fairly painless to merge
(though it does remove `using namespace std;` for sanity).
- The usage of the install directory has been dropped. In particular, waypoints must be located
under `rcbot2/waypoints/${MOD}` instead of nested under a folder matching the name of the
steamdir.
- Removed custom loadout and attribute support from the TF2 portion of the plugin. Other server
plugins (namely [tf2attributes][] and [TF2Items][], where the implementation was ported from)
are better-suited and maintained to handle that stuff; this plugin should only deal with bots
themselves.
- The Metamod:Source plugin can now optionally expose natives to SourceMod, adding some
functionality to control the RCBot2 plugin from SourcePawn.

[AMBuild]: https://wiki.alliedmods.net/AMBuild
[tf2attributes]: https://github.com/FlaminSarge/tf2attributes
[TF2Items]: https://github.com/asherkin/TF2Items

## Installation

1. [Install MetaMod:Source][].
2. Download or build the RCBot2 package.
3. Extract the package into your game directory, similar to the process of installing MM:S.
4. Start the server.
5. To verify that the installation was successful, type `rcbotd` in your server console or RCON.
You should see multiple lines starting with "[RCBot]".

Things like the waypointing guide, hookinfo updater, and waypoints themselves are currently not
available here. You can download those from the [official release thread][]. Waypoints are
also available at [this page][waypoints].

[Install MetaMod:Source]: https://wiki.alliedmods.net/Installing_Metamod:Source
[official release thread]: http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1994
[waypoints]: http://rcbot.bots-united.com/waypoints.php

## Building

### Cloning from source

RCBot2's repo history had all sorts of build artifacts / binaries at various points in time, so
pulling the repository down normally takes an unusually long while. I'd highly recommend
passing in `--depth 1` or a few to avoid retrieving the files that were removed since then.

### Compiling on Windows / Linux

1. [Install the prerequisites for building SourceMod for your OS.][Building SourceMod]
2. Create a `build/` subdirectory, then run `configure.py`.
- The project currently assumes GCC 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 16.04 LTS) on Linux, and MSVC version
1900 (VC++2014.3 v14.00 last I checked). Other compiler toolchains are not guaranteed to
work at this time.
- I use the following options (where `${MOD}` is only TF2):
`python ../configure.py -s ${MOD} --mms_path ${MMS_PATH} --hl2sdk-root ${HL2SDK_ROOT}`
- Specifying an `--sm-path` argument enables linking to SourceMod.
- Note that the automatic versioning system requires an installation of `git` and a
relatively modern version of Python 3.
3. Run `ambuild`. MetaMod:Source plugin is built and the base install files will be available
in `build/package`.

[Building SourceMod]: https://wiki.alliedmods.net/Building_SourceMod
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2 Pages V < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(20 - 28)
dgesd
post Aug 9 2018, 04:34 PM
Post #21


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 23-February 14
From: Russia
Member No.: 2,325



I hope it linked with the Hook FireEvent, but what if not.. It seems areas' autosetup is broken. Because of this, the territory control mode doesn't work at all and new capture waypoints doesn't have any areas.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Aug 12 2018, 12:41 PM
Post #22


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 192
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Cheeseh just done some fixes for RCBot2 - please stand by for the release builds soon!

https://github.com/rcbotCheeseh/rcbot2
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Nov 5 2018, 02:07 PM
Post #23


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 192
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Well I've added the plugin blacklist for RCBot2 config.ini to unload some plugins that can trigger crashes. If you know any plugins that hate RCBot2 please let us know!

Also the main topic has been edited and I will let Cheeseh and Pongo sort out on fixing the bugs, but I will still continue supporting RCBot by creating waypoints for TF2 and DoDS - which is very labour insensitive and require proper tests.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post May 19 2020, 11:53 PM
Post #24


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 192
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



RCBot2 v1.2 Released!

https://github.com/APGRoboCop/rcbot2/releas.../1.2-apg-nosoop

RCBot2 no longer requires hookinfo.ini for TF2 except for the rcbot_const_mstr_offset
RCBot2 no longer uses its own custom weapons and wearable cvars as SourceMod can support it
RCBot2 no longer uses the custom folder for where the /tf folder and files are.

Special thanks to NoSoop for adding AMBuild as well as SourceMod support and many more!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YuriFR
post May 20 2020, 03:32 PM
Post #25


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 7-January 14
Member No.: 2,318



QUOTE(RoboCop @ May 19 2020, 08:53 PM) *

RCBot2 v1.2 Released!

https://github.com/APGRoboCop/rcbot2/releas.../1.2-apg-nosoop

RCBot2 no longer requires hookinfo.ini for TF2 except for the rcbot_const_mstr_offset
RCBot2 no longer uses its own custom weapons and wearable cvars as SourceMod can support it
RCBot2 no longer uses the custom folder for where the /tf folder and files are.

Special thanks to NoSoop for adding AMBuild as well as SourceMod support and many more!


New version! How nice!

As there were few specific updates for Dod:Source, I made some suggestions for Cheeseh to implement (posted at: http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index....amp;#entry15173 and http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index....amp;#entry15174 ).
The most important of them and that I would like to see in a version "RCBot2 v1.3", is to solve the problem of bots that do not use defensive positions for Snipers and MGs (even with "rcbot_defrate" in 0.9 or 1.0), or use them very little (and narrowly time too): make the flag "defend" a mandatory waypoint for bots and assign it a user-controllable time value (thus, the bot is prevented from leaving the position until the time stipulated by the waypointer is met). This control would make a big difference in the gameplay, which would become more diverse and less predictable.

If Cheeseh does not want to change the "defender" flag, he can create another flag in the "waypoint menu", (for example: with the name "fixed position"), which implements this function above. The waypointer that is not interested in fixed defense positions: just ignore these flag (or set time "0" for her)...

[sory for bad english]
----------------------------------------

To remember:
RCBot2 v1.2 released here: https://github.com/APGRoboCop/rcbot2/releas.../1.2-apg-nosoop
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post May 20 2020, 10:33 PM
Post #26


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 192
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Well, bare in mind that RCBot v1.2 no longer uses those Makefile and VS Project files as NoSoop removed them in favour for AMBuild. AMBuild is supposed to be designed to handle and compile better for using multiple HL2SDKs and adding SourceMod support.

I've not had the chance to test RCBot2 v1.2 for DoDS and HL2DM even though AMBuild can compile some RCBot2 extensions for TF2, DoDS, HL2DM - possibly for Source 2006, CSS as well as BMS and Source 2013. But of course it really depends on the entities required for the bots to "understand" the tactical situations and how to "Menu Select".

Also I've managed to suss out how to use AMBuild in Linux as I was lucky to keep the older GCC 5.4 as they fail on newer GCC as before...But VS2019 on the other hand seems to work fine.

Sadly I'm not a Windows fan and AMBuild requires using Python and installing Python from MS Store doesn't work as they got those Folder Permissions that prevents us from installing AMBuild using Python, so you have to install Python from else where - even though Visual Code kinda focuses mainly on Python from MS Store.

I can handle more on the Linux side but I need to check if other HL2SDK kits work better for RCBot2. And the best part for RCBot2 is not having to worry or update your hookinfo.ini too often nowadays as 83% of it are no longer required.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madmax2
post May 21 2020, 12:14 AM
Post #27


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 957
Joined: 2-March 12
From: USA, WA state
Member No.: 2,162



Nice work smile.gif ... But are these builds intended for dedicated servers, have they been run on listen servers?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nosoop
post May 21 2020, 03:12 AM
Post #28


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 21-July 19
Member No.: 2,601



QUOTE(madmax2 @ May 20 2020, 05:14 PM) *

Nice work smile.gif ... But are these builds also intended for dedicated servers, have they been run on listen servers?

As long as Metamod:Source manages to load, there should be no problems with the server portion.

That said, adding a bot in listen server mode (via rcbot addbot) does crash in TF2; at the moment I'm unsure if that's a regression in the migration to the AMBuild system / upstream SDKs, or in the MM:S-based plugin in general.

Edit: It goes at least as far back as after the AMBuild change was merged in. I'm not sure if recent builds that aren't built from my codebase are also affected, but it also crashes on the build listed here.

Edit (2): Okay, no, I'm just dumb. Forgot to fix the offset for TF2 again. It is confirmed working on listen servers, as far as my basic tests go.
I'll try to watch this space in case I've caused a regression (though the removal of attribute / item support is because I only run dedicated servers myself).

This post has been edited by nosoop: May 22 2020, 06:47 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post May 21 2020, 01:35 PM
Post #29


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 192
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



QUOTE(nosoop @ May 21 2020, 04:12 AM) *

As long as Metamod:Source manages to load, there should be no problems with the server portion.

That said, adding a bot in listen server mode (via rcbot addbot) does crash in TF2; at the moment I'm unsure if that's a regression in the migration to the AMBuild system / upstream SDKs, or in the MM:S-based plugin in general.

Well so far it appears from the latest commit update from BAILOPAN for HL2SDK this week has fixed the min/max std issue that appears to hate newer GCC as I've managed to recompile RCBot2 for TF2 on my Debian with GCC 8.3. But the other SDKs like DODS and HL2DM requires the -fpermissive flag added as they seem to hate the "V_swap" but I'm not going to add that flag for that.


CODE
In file included from /home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/alliedmodders/hl2sdk-dods/public/tier1/utlvector.h:23,
                 from /home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/alliedmodders/hl2sdk-dods/public/tier1/convar.h:21,
                 from /home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/utils/RCBot2_meta/bot_cvars.cpp:4:
/home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/alliedmodders/hl2sdk-dods/public/tier1/utlmemory.h: In member function ‘void CUtlMemory<T, I>::Swap(CUtlMemory<T, I>&)’:
/home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/alliedmodders/hl2sdk-dods/public/tier1/utlmemory.h:330:2: error: there are no arguments to ‘V_swap’ that depend on a template parameter, so a declaration of ‘V_swap’ must be available [-fpermissive]
  V_swap( m_nGrowSize, mem.m_nGrowSize );
  ^~~~~~
/home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/alliedmodders/hl2sdk-dods/public/tier1/utlmemory.h:330:2: note: (if you use ‘-fpermissive’, G++ will accept your code, but allowing the use of an undeclared name is deprecated)
/home/desktop/programming/src/rcbot2/alliedmodders/hl2sdk-dods/public/tier1/utlmemory.h:332:2: error: there are no arguments to ‘V_swap’ that depend on a template parameter, so a declaration of ‘V_swap’ must be available [-fpermissive]
  V_swap( m_nAllocationCount, mem.m_nAllocationCount );
  ^~~~~~
Build failed.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
4 User(s) are reading this topic (4 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th May 2024 - 01:24 AM