IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> RCBot v1.443 Released! (Not for Sven)
Ryusho
post Oct 15 2017, 04:21 AM
Post #21


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 25-December 08
Member No.: 1,436



Thats really sad they don't seem to have any interest in supporting you at all, at least as far as o ne can tell because it looks like they would -want- to help Rcbot since it has been a huge part and aid to the comunity for quite some time and even really helped Svencoop take off in some ways.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GiGaBiTe
post Oct 29 2017, 01:34 AM
Post #22


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 17-October 07
Member No.: 1,238



QUOTE(RoboCop @ Sep 25 2017, 01:25 AM) *
As for v1.443-beta for Sven, Sniper and AdamR didn't appear to show any interest or enthusiasm with those upgraded bots. They didn't share their headers or any tips on how to make those bots be more adapted for Sven v5. I'm guessing they don't want the bots nor the Metamod Addons to be supported for Sven nowadays.


It's not just the bots and Metamod the SC devs don't care about, they haven't had any direction for the game itself in years. They add random half-assed features that nobody even asked for and don't bother fixing known and documented bugs that have existed for sometimes years.

One significant bug which I discovered recently is a nasty AI navigation and scripted sequence bug, which causes heavy CPU usage on the server and client lag when Metamod is used. I've mentioned it several times, and the devs have pretty much zero interest in resolving it.

Though I'm such a thorn in their side with publicly criticizing them for doing nothing, and sharing information to the public about the problem, that I've heard from back channels they're discussing something about it. I'm not going to hold my breath though, they have a history of disappointments.

Currently their stance is metamod is not supported, so they're not required to do anything about it. They desperately want everyone to convert over to their garbage Angelscript system which is vastly inferior to Metamod+AMXX, and far more complex to program for. Angelscript pales in comparison to Metamod+AMXX in terms of features and support.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Jun 27 2018, 05:33 PM
Post #23


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 112
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Well this sucks I did ask and PM one of the Sven Dev team about acquiring the essential header files for RCBot. But it is like they are too busy nor supporting Metamod based addons as well as RCBot (w/o Metamod versions). Apart from RCBot I did some enhancements to some broken Metamod addons like AdminMod, LogD, plus drunken f00l had recompiled HookMod to allow support for Sven Coop v5. I wasn't sure if the bots would trigger some crashes like using admin_slay where it contains admin_bot_protection cvar that blocks any admin cmds used on bots that could trigger those crashes.

But overall the current version of those RCBots appear to be running fine, and works better on LossyDragon's Metamod-P. I'll let you know in case there is any FATAL ERRORs or crashes caused by RCBot from GDB.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
w00tguy123
post Jul 11 2018, 03:21 AM
Post #24


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 9-March 07
Member No.: 1,069



QUOTE
Sniper: I don't think we can continue to support them, because they constantly need updated headers from us
Sniper: If anything we need to expose an API for exactly what they need
Sniper: We're constantly changing/improving things, so it's not really a realistic scenario for us to keep sending updates back


RIP my bot babies. Their dirty chat knowledge will live on forever in my hard drive.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solokiller
post Jul 11 2018, 08:23 AM
Post #25


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 17-December 16
Member No.: 2,482



QUOTE(w00tguy123 @ Jul 11 2018, 05:21 AM) *

RIP my bot babies. Their dirty chat knowledge will live on forever in my hard drive.


If they're releasing updates every 6 months they can take the 10 minutes needed to pack this stuff up out of their time. Or write a script to automate it and push it to a Git repo.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Jul 11 2018, 05:27 PM
Post #26


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 112
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Well I guess they don't want their 19 years of hard worked worth of efforts on creating the Sven Coop and Svengine src code being exposed to their rivals, in case they make a clone of Sven running on Unity or even Unreal Engine 4.

It seems clear they cannot share us nor allow access to a SVN to obtain the important header files, but it appears they don't want to risk granting access to a noone who is a Sven Dev member.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solokiller
post Jul 12 2018, 01:28 PM
Post #27


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 17-December 16
Member No.: 2,482



They can easily make a separate repository that only contains the files you need. Then all they need to do is execute a script to copy the files to the repo directory, execute a git commit + push and let you grab the files from the remote repository.

It's piss easy to set up for anyone who has basic knowledge of Git and command scripting.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
w00tguy123
post Oct 3 2018, 07:30 AM
Post #28


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 9-March 07
Member No.: 1,069



Just curious, why does rcbot need updated headers from sven anyway (specifically cbasemonster.h and cbase.h)? If it's for combat code can't you check classifications instead? Does the game just crash if you use an old header?

I know nothing about coding for metamod but I feel like those headers shouldn't really be necessary, or else all metamod plugins would be having this problem.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2018 - 04:38 AM