IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How do I get the bots to chat in the game? (DoD:S Linux server)
pan
post Dec 16 2015, 11:39 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 16-December 15
Member No.: 2,434



I added to config.ini:

CODE

rcbot_chat_dont_learn 1
rcbot_chat_percent 40


What do I need to do to get them to chat in game, and learn from other people chatting?

Thanks
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
genmac
post Dec 17 2015, 06:09 AM
Post #2


RCBot Guru
*****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 571
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 2,098



Seems that's no longer supported or disabled via internal codes.
Most bots based on the hpb_bot template such as rcbots usually
have built in bot chats and txt file that's goes with it so you can add more chat and taunt lines.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pan
post Dec 17 2015, 08:22 AM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 16-December 15
Member No.: 2,434



So it doesn't exist any more? There's heaps of documentation on it but I guess it doesn't matter that much, I just thought it'd be funny.

I'm so grateful for this mod anyway, it's awesome. Makes my otherwise useless dod:s server something worth playing on!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Dec 17 2015, 04:41 PM
Post #4


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,009
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(pan @ Dec 17 2015, 08:22 AM) *

So it doesn't exist any more? There's heaps of documentation on it but I guess it doesn't matter that much, I just thought it'd be funny.

I'm so grateful for this mod anyway, it's awesome. Makes my otherwise useless dod:s server something worth playing on!


It's not so much that it doesn't exist anymore, but it has never actually been implemented into Rcbot 2. Only rcbot 1. Perhaps some time I'll have a look at the best chat program and add it in somehow eventually
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pan
post Dec 17 2015, 09:31 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 16-December 15
Member No.: 2,434



QUOTE(Cheeseh @ Dec 18 2015, 03:41 AM) *

It's not so much that it doesn't exist anymore, but it has never actually been implemented into Rcbot 2. Only rcbot 1. Perhaps some time I'll have a look at the best chat program and add it in somehow eventually


Ah right, ok.

It's no big deal, really. People can tell they're bots by looking at the TAB score and seeing BOT BOT BOT everywhere.

Having them chat would just be a gimmick.

It'd be better to spend time on making more waypoints for popular custom maps than worrying about adding chat.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2019 - 07:40 AM