IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [Request]Svencoop waypoints, and a few other questions
Emmanuel
post Mar 11 2007, 01:17 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 13-November 04
From: Buenos aires , argentina
Member No.: 442



I know im not much around here but I should because I always use RCbot, but now i just came to make requests.
Im a waypointer, and when i see a good map without waypoints i put them in.

I first use autowaypoint and then i correct the waypoints that arent very well placed.
pathwaypoints are auto so i dont worry about it.
I've tried to learn how to waypoint ladders and elevators but, damn its hard. I do it as it says everywhere and still the bots just jerk around and get killed by the elevator, they ram the doors and get stuck of they get stuck at the bottom of the ladder and commit suicide.


About versions of rcbot. I saw that the earlier version 1.3 full, in some maps like grunts2, the bots could climb the fence just fine, but now in 1.4 beta they get stuck and commit suicide(and these are official waypoints by Cheeseh. And i cant understand why they do that. and theres no way to correct the waypoint as its perfect.
But i wont use earlier versions because the beta has more options and better things.

My problem is that, whatever my sacrifice is, i cant waypoint just right, and it seems its getting impossible.
Sometimes bots just follow waypoints and then suddenly they stop, and turn around coming back from where they came from, and they wont just follow THAT waypoint, and everything is ok, even pathwaypoints.




NOW ON THE REQUESTS:
I tried to waypoint these maps but I suck, so im requesting if someone has them to hand them over if they are better than mine:

Theyrhungry>they get stuck at the ladder(the rope after the gate that opens)and i cant make them "human tower" beneath the fence that has to be climbed, and mainly because if you dont kill the grunts without them noticing you(with sniper rifle this way) the map crashes by no reason(when the grunts start shooting, not the snipers)

updated waypoints(this not really needed): maps like grunts2 that bots get stuck at the electric fence and other maps already waypointed

escape waypoints(this are a real challenge): escape series waypoints. I managed to make escape1 waypoints, but at the first map they fall to death at the beginning, and the second map they dont climb the stairs.
Escape 2 is friggen impossible for me, i cant make them go past the spawn in every map of the series, all those shortcuts and objectives make it even harder.

sc_persia: this map is complicated, because it has this ladders that arent climbed vertical but horizontal

richard_boderman: i made some waypoints and they work pretty well, but the bots wont climb the ladders and so they wont get inside the mountain never or to the top floor of it never ever

infiltrate: the waypoints are like cut and the bots wont go underground at the end, also they get stuck all the time at the broken elevator's ladder and also wont help me inside the tubes after the female assassins and i take a long time to beat all those male assassins before that too, because they wont use the teleporter at the start when its ready. they will just go past it and get stuck at the elevator (basically they get to the crossbow under the elevator and then get stuck at climbing up.


vger2alpha: this map has no waypoints, though its rather complicated because it has this part with ventilation shafts and climbing over an apc to get to the other side of a broken door, and afterr that an elevator(round elevator, like a donnut) that wont come down once you push the button and it got all the way up. And all those robot grunts take a life time to defeat.




if i remember more ill come back and reply.


now some questions:

about Natural selection, i remember that if you were going to play it through WON, the game will eventually crash Svencoop if used first and vice versa. So can anyone explain to me, will it work(remember both games are played through won in this case)without any of them crashing, and will i be able to use rcbot on both without crashing them too?

is currently rcbot2 out? and what games does it support and how it works(by this i mean if its like rcbot1 in style of using=menus, adding bots, how they react and if they use waypoints, and how its installed)?

Is this Rcbot 1.4beta or the 1.3 full that will support sven 3.5 or you will have to do something to make it work for it? Taking in account the new lot of things 3.5 has that the bots wont be aware of if this version is used?
Oh, people here that like making svencoop waypoints, prepare for 3.5 because it will have new maps without any waypoints at all AND also there are rumours it wont come alone, but with another coop friend, they hunger coop.

So, see you at Sven coop forums.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emmanuel
post Jun 4 2007, 12:54 AM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 13-November 04
From: Buenos aires , argentina
Member No.: 442



im back again.
I was playing the other day when by no freaking reason bots stopped working on some maps like theyrhungry or zombielab, or escape(maps that i made waypoints for(oh and infested too)

I figured out that maybe it was the waypoints, but they were just fine! checked pathwaypoint too and they were as i left them long ago.

I don't know why but somehow the waypoints' version got changed or the bots' version got changed and damned bots didn't work. I had to delete all waypoints and make them all over again. It was a pain.

Now they work fine, but im afraid it will happen again.



I need advice, is convenient to use the rcbot beta that has more options and such(tough an annoying yellow intro text with scientists saying hello)but it's more buggy, or the 1.3 final, which is earlier and has less options but it's less buggy?

can you tell me people your opinion/experience and what version to choose?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Jun 4 2007, 09:46 PM
Post #3


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



for svencoop best is the very latest bot, the one that works with the latest version of NS and the latest beta version of it, which is what I am guess you were using but I can't be sure.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 7th December 2019 - 12:44 PM