IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting Rcbot2 to work with Black Mesa?
ssteven
post Aug 27 2018, 12:03 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



Hello,

I've recently compiled Botrix for BMS using alliedmodders sdk. It works fine but the bots themselves are very dumb and the waypointing system is atrocious.

I'm going to try and compile rcbot for bms using the same method. Is there anything I need to change code-wise or the same trick should also work? I have metamod and sourcemod installed.

Cheers.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssteven
post Aug 27 2018, 01:53 PM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



I've taken a quick look, why are there 2 projects?

I couldn't get the HPB_Bot2 to compile as it complains about the actual code (around 170 errors).
After a bit of tinkering I've compiled HPB_Bot2 in Meta folder and I get RCBot2MetaDebug.dll. This doesn't sound right. Shouldn't it called something like rcbot2_meta.dll?

Quickly tried it out in BMS, doesn't even recognize it.

steamapps\common\Black Mesa\bms\addons\rcbot2\bin\RCBot2MetaDebug.dll

IPB Image

Just checked out rcbot2.vdf, it targets Rcbot2Meta so I changed it to Rcbot2MetaDebug. Game instantly crashes on load screen. Using this as source: https://github.com/APGRoboCop/rcbot2/
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Aug 27 2018, 05:21 PM
Post #3


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 191
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



I admire your ambition and hope for testing RCBot2 for Black Mesa DM. Besides I was wondering on allowing support for that GameMod. But you will need to have the weapon entities along with their fire rate, delay as well for other things for bots to understand as they don't know human language except in C/C++. Besides you don't want bots to use Bazookas in close ranges as well not knowing how to toggle laser to steer the rocket, do ya?

This maybe not to hard as we could extract some HL2DM weapon data as they have some similarities.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssteven
post Aug 27 2018, 05:34 PM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



QUOTE(RoboCop @ Aug 27 2018, 06:21 PM) *

I admire your ambition and hope for testing RCBot2 for Black Mesa DM. Besides I was wondering on allowing support for that GameMod. But you will need to have the weapon entities along with their fire rate, delay as well for other things for bots to understand as they don't know human language except in C/C++. Besides you don't want bots to use Bazookas in close ranges as well not knowing how to toggle laser to steer the rocket, do ya?

This maybe not to hard as we could extract some HL2DM weapon data as they have some similarities.


That's not a huge deal as most of the weapon entities are almost 1:1 from HL2DM. I just can't get it to work on BM engine at all, game instantly crashes when I load the dll through the vdf.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Aug 27 2018, 07:12 PM
Post #5


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 191
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Did you get the crash dumps or any developer/debug logs for us to have a look at?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssteven
post Aug 27 2018, 11:30 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



Where could I find them?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Aug 28 2018, 07:54 AM
Post #7


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(ssteven @ Aug 28 2018, 12:30 AM) *

Where could I find them?


If you've managed to compile with VS 2013 you should be able to attach hl.exe to its debugger and it should break when it crashes.

Furthermore, did you copy the hl2dm settings in the bot_mods.ini (rcbot2 /config) and make a black mesa one? you'd need to change the source steam folder and game directory in the bot_mods.ini
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssteven
post Aug 28 2018, 10:07 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



Hmm. This is what I have in my bot_mods.ini

mod = BMS
steamdir = Black Mesa
gamedir = bms
bot = HL2DM
weaponlist = HL2DM

my bms install is at steamapps\common\Black Mesa\bms

The game still crashes instantly, I don't even get to the main menu. I compiled using VS2015. Will try the debugger next if I get it to attach...

Got it. I don't know much about C++ debugging, but here's what I got when it crashes:

IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssteven
post Aug 28 2018, 10:26 PM
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



Hmm, I suppose it complains about the .vdf?

IPB Image

I dunno if this is any help to you guys.
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Aug 29 2018, 08:48 AM
Post #10


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE

I compiled using VS2015. Will try the debugger next if I get it to attach...


Are you compiling with VS2013 tools? As far as I know the HL2 engine is not compatible with VS2015+ compile tools.

looks like maybe it can't fine the files, don't know why it would be crashing though (apart from the VS tools thing)... did you check where exactly it is looking for the files by putting a watch on the variables?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RoboCop
post Aug 29 2018, 05:10 PM
Post #11


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 191
Joined: 17-December 15
From: Dundee, Scotland
Member No.: 2,435



Did you check the weapons.ini file? You would need to add the weapon entities and classify those Black Mesa Weapons as a specific weaponlist or something. But I'm not so certain...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssteven
post Sep 1 2018, 03:09 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-August 18
Member No.: 2,557



QUOTE(Cheeseh @ Aug 29 2018, 09:48 AM) *

Are you compiling with VS2013 tools? As far as I know the HL2 engine is not compatible with VS2015+ compile tools.

looks like maybe it can't fine the files, don't know why it would be crashing though (apart from the VS tools thing)... did you check where exactly it is looking for the files by putting a watch on the variables?


No as far as I know it's vanilla VS2015 setup. The only thing I did change in the project is use alliedmodders sdk libraries in project settings.

I changed to use the libs from the Rcbot2 source and it's still crashing instantly.

I'm not good when it comes to debugging C++ but if I double click on this first call in the stack I get this:

IPB Image

This doesn't look right to me? Where is it taking this from? I don't even have this folder.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emotional
post Sep 5 2018, 11:21 AM
Post #13


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 5-March 13
Member No.: 2,260



Wow, wow!
Nice work. I hope you will succeed smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th March 2024 - 06:03 AM