IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Compiling Rcbot - Linux
LordSkitch
post Jan 17 2007, 11:05 AM
Post #41


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



try this... http://www.joesucks.net/files/rcbot/rcbot_mm_i486.so
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Venom
post Jan 19 2007, 10:22 AM
Post #42


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 807



OMG it worked, i am actually running RCbot on Linux biggrin.gif

What did you do to make it work?

and the second question is how can i compile it under linux without getting hundreds of errors? smile.gif

Thanks Lordskitch and Cheeseh for helping so much.

I am so happy smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Jan 20 2007, 03:08 AM
Post #43


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



i compiled using the latest source cheeseh put up there, its got the code inside to check for linux and windows so it should compile the same on both platforms
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Venom
post Jan 20 2007, 05:32 PM
Post #44


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 807



[root@www dlls]$ make -fmakefile_linux_mm
g++ -Dstricmp=strcasecmp -Dstrcmpi=strcasecmp -DRCBOT_META_BUILD -m486 -O2 -w -I../engine -I../common -I../pm_shared -c bot.cpp -o bot.o
bot.cpp: In function \u2018BOOL BotFunc_FillString(char*, const char*, const char*, int)\u2019:
bot.cpp:2201: error: cast from \u2018char*\u2019 to \u2018int\u2019 loses precision
bot.cpp:2201: error: cast from \u2018char*\u2019 to \u2018int\u2019 loses precision
bot.cpp: In member function \u2018BOOL CBot::UpdateVisibles()\u2019:
bot.cpp:6641: error: cast from \u2018edict_t*\u2019 to \u2018int\u2019 loses precision
make: *** [bot.o] Error 1

Seems to work almost except for that one error. Any idea on how to fix it?

I am hoping to help develop RCbot and provide you with code additions etc...but i need to be able to compile it correctly.

If you can help, i would be very greatful.

UPDATE:
Also i wanted to add, based on the RCbot you compiled for me Lordskitch, there are errors produced when running it. The terminal displays the following but does seem to effect the bots that much.

This line below only shows up once or twice every few minutes with a different ID.
[RCBOT>] warning: GetClientRep(): No Rep for pClient (id: 3) (returning default)

This one below is spammed constantly every few seconds.
[RCBOT>] warning: GetClientRep(): Bad pClient recieved (NULL) (returning default)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Jan 20 2007, 11:24 PM
Post #45


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



make sure you have the latest source from the file base, that's all i downloaded, then i ran

make -f linux_makefile_mm and it ran just fine

those clientrep errors are pretty meaningless, the bots can actually develop "feelings" for players based on how many times they kill/get killed by a player. usually you can correct that by deleting the files related to the reputations, they'll automatically be regenerated in a non-busted way. the files are "bot_playerids.ini" in the /rcbot/ folder, and all of the .rcr files in /rcbot/botprofiles/
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Venom
post Jan 21 2007, 12:41 PM
Post #46


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 807



I have the latest source i think, i am using the source from here: http://filebase.bots-united.com/index.php?...file&id=204

Which i thought was the latest, same error is being produced.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IHQ-Reima[DWMH]
post Jan 28 2007, 12:45 PM
Post #47


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Finland
Member No.: 737



When I changed to Linux I kept the hierarchy the same. I load the .so file in the metamod ini ../rcbot/dlls/rcbot_mm_i486.so.

I just copied the rcbot folder from my Windows server and just replaced the .dll with .so. The bots work fine but I can't waypoint: 'you don't have rights to that command' when I type in cl-console 'rcbot waypoint on'. Do I have a bug somewhere? In windows server it works.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Jan 28 2007, 07:58 PM
Post #48


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



whats your bot_users.ini file look like?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Jan 28 2007, 08:36 PM
Post #49


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(LordSkitch @ Jan 28 2007, 07:58 PM) *

whats your bot_users.ini file look like?


also make sure its in the correct folder, the bot also says messages in the console when loading about the bot users file, make sure to check those.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IHQ-Reima[DWMH]
post Jan 29 2007, 07:08 AM
Post #50


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Finland
Member No.: 737



QUOTE(Cheeseh @ Jan 28 2007, 08:36 PM) *

also make sure its in the correct folder, the bot also says messages in the console when loading about the bot users file, make sure to check those.



Like I said I copied the working rcbot folder from my windows server. Rcbot loads the users at the server startup and they should work then. Dunno, but after testing Linux for a day and it didn't give me anything better than windows so I switched back tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Jan 29 2007, 03:03 PM
Post #51


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Venom
post Feb 1 2007, 10:23 AM
Post #52


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 807



lol nice picture LordSkitch tongue.gif

I deleted both "bot_playerids.ini" in the /rcbot/ folder, and all of the .rcr files in /rcbot/botprofiles/
and still the same error being produced, which is a minor problem.

I am still unable to compile the bots correctly with the same error being produced using the link i posted previously.

Any suggestions sad.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Feb 1 2007, 02:35 PM
Post #53


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



what do the errors say again?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 1 2007, 04:59 PM
Post #54


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



If you mean GetClientRep(), they are not errors ! they are warnings! Most likely it is caused by using metamod and having whichbots or any other bot (which isn't rcbot) joining the game and not being caught by RCbot engine hooking functions. [Again errors cause the program to cease executing. Warnings cause the program to continue executing because the occuring problem is not essential to the bots operation.]

It is not a problem because all that warning message does is say "I am returning the default value which does not have any effect on anything except the correct function of the bot reputation system which is not even essential to the bots function" cool.gif However there may be indirect crashes being caused by the same thing but they will only have an affect if you use rcbot util functions on which bots and stuff like that.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Venom
post Feb 2 2007, 09:24 AM
Post #55


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 807



[root@www dlls]$ make -fmakefile_linux_mm
g++ -Dstricmp=strcasecmp -Dstrcmpi=strcasecmp -DRCBOT_META_BUILD -m486 -O2 -w -I../engine -I../common -I../pm_shared -c bot.cpp -o bot.o
bot.cpp: In function \u2018BOOL BotFunc_FillString(char*, const char*, const char*, int)\u2019:
bot.cpp:2201: error: cast from \u2018char*\u2019 to \u2018int\u2019 loses precision
bot.cpp:2201: error: cast from \u2018char*\u2019 to \u2018int\u2019 loses precision
bot.cpp: In member function \u2018BOOL CBot::UpdateVisibles()\u2019:
bot.cpp:6641: error: cast from \u2018edict_t*\u2019 to \u2018int\u2019 loses precision
make: *** [bot.o] Error 1

Seems the only error i get when compiling the bots.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 2 2007, 04:16 PM
Post #56


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



that compiler is freakin pedantic!!



// initialize them to empty (don't need to null terminate at the right point)//bot.cpp:2200
memset((void*)before,0,len);//bot.cpp:2201
memset((void*)after,0,len);//bot.cpp:2202

stuff like that. make sure you haven't got a pedantic option selected in GCC/g++, or reduce warning level. these should be warnings given by the compiler, not errors
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Venom
post Feb 15 2007, 06:15 PM
Post #57


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 807



OK so we now hopefully know its not a problem with the source code but its the compiler, so how do i change it to show less warnings? i am using fedora OS.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Feb 15 2007, 06:34 PM
Post #58


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(Venom @ Feb 15 2007, 06:15 PM) *

OK so we now hopefully know its not a problem with the source code but its the compiler, so how do i change it to show less warnings? i am using fedora OS.


"Read the compiler's manual to learn about the various '-W' options," - http://users.actcom.co.il/~choo/lupg/tutor.../c-on-unix.html

I was guessing you had -Werror flag on, but I'm not sure, as it didnt generate a .so file, or did it?.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
junktext
post Oct 6 2007, 07:01 PM
Post #59


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 1,037



QUOTE(LordSkitch @ Jan 19 2007, 11:08 PM) *

i compiled using the latest source cheeseh put up there, its got the code inside to check for linux and windows so it should compile the same on both platforms


Stupid question (maybe): Where exactly is the latest source code located? I'm looking at RCBot's "Bot United Filebase" section and the latest source says it is for v1.38 [and the one I'm using is v1.441 Beta]. Here is what I'm looking at... http://filebase.bots-united.com/index.php?...file&id=204

Is this the same source version that you used by chance? I have a few things I'd like to try and modify, but I want to be sure I'm using the correct source files first.

Thanks in advance for any help on this!

- junktext
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Oct 6 2007, 07:39 PM
Post #60


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index....post&p=7096

bottom of that page.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 04:48 PM