IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> RCBots in Synergy
daunknownman2010
post Oct 2 2014, 08:43 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 2-October 14
Member No.: 2,359



The bots in Synergy do everything normally like walking around and following waypoints, however, they don't attack NPCs even if "bot = COOP". They will simply walk past them and die afterwards.

However, the bots work great otherwise tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Oct 2 2014, 11:21 AM
Post #2


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(daunknownman2010 @ Oct 2 2014, 09:43 AM) *

The bots in Synergy do everything normally like walking around and following waypoints, however, they don't attack NPCs even if "bot = COOP". They will simply walk past them and die afterwards.

However, the bots work great otherwise tongue.gif


what are the class names of the monsters? You can go near a monster in spectator mode and type

rcbot util search

I've never tried it with synergy but it should work. They should attack NPCs if their classname begins with npc_, but not npc_barney etc
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daunknownman2010
post Oct 2 2014, 11:42 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 2-October 14
Member No.: 2,359



The ones I tried them on are npc_combine_s and npc_hunter but they don't attack them.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Oct 2 2014, 02:12 PM
Post #4


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(daunknownman2010 @ Oct 2 2014, 12:42 PM) *

The ones I tried them on are npc_combine_s and npc_hunter but they don't attack them.


that's weird cos I have this code
CODE

    classname = pEdict->GetClassName();

    if ( strncmp(classname,"npc_",4) == 0 )
    {
        if ( !strcmp(classname,"npc_antlionguard") || !strcmp(classname,"npc_citizen") ||
             !strcmp(classname,"npc_barney") || !strcmp(classname,"npc_kliener") || !strcmp(classname,"npc_alyx") )
        {
            return false; // ally
        }

        return true;
    }



so any thing with npc_ in it's name should be a target unless its a lionguard,citizen,barney , kliener or alyx
. BTW you don't need to set the bot = COOP, unless the synergy folders are not called 'synergy' (the bot already has the setup details precoded)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daunknownman2010
post Oct 2 2014, 03:33 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 2-October 14
Member No.: 2,359



While playing, I debugged the bots and it seems their current util is BOT_UTIL_BUILDSENTRY which is weird since it's not TF2.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Oct 2 2014, 11:27 PM
Post #6


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(daunknownman2010 @ Oct 2 2014, 04:33 PM) *

While playing, I debugged the bots and it seems their current util is BOT_UTIL_BUILDSENTRY which is weird since it's not TF2.


that's fine because BOT_UTIL_BUILDSENTRY is just zero !
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daunknownman2010
post Oct 3 2014, 10:14 AM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 2-October 14
Member No.: 2,359



ah, ok. Just did further debugging, seems the npcs don't appear to be visible to the bots. It's a very rare chance they will start seeing npcs but I don't know why. Also, they seem to not change weapons and stick with the weapon they got.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Oct 4 2014, 03:48 AM
Post #8


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,055
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(daunknownman2010 @ Oct 3 2014, 11:14 AM) *

ah, ok. Just did further debugging, seems the npcs don't appear to be visible to the bots. It's a very rare chance they will start seeing npcs but I don't know why. Also, they seem to not change weapons and stick with the weapon they got.


perhaps they don't think they've got any weapons, I'll recheck sometime soon
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:14 PM