IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Revision 184, HL2DM bot adding crashes the game
GTManiK
post Sep 12 2012, 05:36 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-September 12
Member No.: 2,236



Just downloaded the code from Sourceforge (Rev. 184), built HPB_Bot2.dll using MSVC2010.
The game now crashes on "rcbot addbot" command.
But verson 0.63 (precompiled binary from Sourceforge) works OK, without any crashes. Maybe the sources are outdated?
Any support will be appreciated.

My HL2.exe info:
Protocol version 22
Exe version 1.0.0.34 (hl2dm)
Exe build: 11:41:47 Sep 10 2012 (5056) (320)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Sep 12 2012, 11:42 PM
Post #2


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,018
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



The rcbot source is ok but you need to use the correct hl2 sdk because most files that are affected from updates are because sdk files change.

Get the sdk u need here ( i use the tf2 one )

http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1495

Download in full and put rcbot in its util directory
QUOTE(GTManiK @ Sep 12 2012, 06:36 PM) *

Just downloaded the code from Sourceforge (Rev. 184), built HPB_Bot2.dll using MSVC2010.
The game now crashes on "rcbot addbot" command.
But verson 0.63 (precompiled binary from Sourceforge) works OK, without any crashes. Maybe the sources are outdated?
Any support will be appreciated.

My HL2.exe info:
Protocol version 22
Exe version 1.0.0.34 (hl2dm)
Exe build: 11:41:47 Sep 10 2012 (5056) (320)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GTManiK
post Sep 13 2012, 09:49 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-September 12
Member No.: 2,236



QUOTE(Cheeseh @ Sep 13 2012, 02:42 AM) *

The rcbot source is ok but you need to use the correct hl2 sdk because most files that are affected from updates are because sdk files change.

Get the sdk u need here ( i use the tf2 one )

http://rcbot.bots-united.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1495

Download in full and put rcbot in its util directory


Thanks, now the game doesn't crash anymore!
Maybe it's not obvious (at least for me) that custom SDK is a must, because it DOES compile with the standard SDK, but then just doesn't work.
I think it's a good idea to add something like "Even if you succeed compiling Rcbot2 with a Valve's SDK from Steam, the binary wouldn't work properly in game" to the sticky about compiling sources.
Again, many thanks!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2019 - 09:18 AM