IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Changing Map File Name, Changine Waypoint File Name
DarthSailor
post May 24 2005, 03:14 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 509



I have waypoints for an older version of lets say ns_eclipse. I renamed the older version ns_eclipse_v3b4 and renamed the waypoint files with the same suffix (_v3b4).

It doesn't work. I see that the map name is embedded in the waypoint file.

What should I be doing to make the waypoint files work on a different named map?

Darth
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post May 24 2005, 07:42 PM
Post #2


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



Hex edit it and change it in the file header...

It should look something like this:

CODE
RCBot...........
....ns_eclipse..
................
........^......D
f.DD....,1...q.D
f.DD....(......D
f.DD........v..E
f.YD....b@...|.E
f.LD........AX.E
f.LD....r......D
f.LD.....h..Qa.D


change it over to look like this

CODE
RCBot...........
....ns_eclipse_v
3b4.............
........^......D
f.DD....,1...q.D
f.DD....(......D
f.DD........v..E
f.YD....b@...|.E
f.LD........AX.E
f.LD....r......D
f.LD.....h..Qa.D


http://www.bpsoft.com/ (best hex editor I know of)


I had to do the same thing when I put back in the original co_daimos and renamed it to co_daimos_b5
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
link2002
post May 24 2005, 08:48 PM
Post #3


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 7-February 04
From: Brazil
Member No.: 231



You can use notepad if you want biggrin.gif tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DarthSailor
post May 24 2005, 10:42 PM
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 509



Awesome. Awesome, awesome, awesome...

Thanks LordSkitch. I'm realeasing a new map in the next couple of days, and was afraid I'd have to remake all the waypoints again (I made them on the first beta version of the map).

I actually had tried notepad, but no luck there and none expected. Lucky me the name change was all that was needed though. Thanks for the hex editor by the way. I used to do a lot of hex editing "way back when" with PCTools, but nothing recently.

Thanks again!

Darth
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandman[SA]
post May 25 2005, 12:16 AM
Post #5


RCBot Waypointer
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 987
Joined: 15-September 03
From: Philadelphia
Member No.: 19



QUOTE (link2002 @ May 24 2005, 08:48 PM)
You can use notepad if you want biggrin.gif  tongue.gif

Not really. Not unless you know exactly what to change. Binary hex editers are really the only way.

Here is the hexediter I use. HDD Software Hex Editer and it's 100% free forever.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DarthSailor
post May 25 2005, 12:29 PM
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 509



Yeah, notepad can't handle machine code, so if it works you got lucky. It's very rare.

Check your link Sandman. It didn't work for me, but I did find it here to check it out.

http://www.download.com/Hex-Editor/3000-23...tml?tag=lst-0-2

HHD Software's site appears to be down or have moved.

Darth
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post May 25 2005, 07:16 PM
Post #7


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



Thats basically the same thing as HexWorkshop, just HexWorkshop is more flexible and such... if you're a coder or anything you totally need to invest in a hex editor anyways laugh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DarthSailor
post May 26 2005, 12:10 AM
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 509



Mainframe Analyst actually, but I do do a little programming from time to time. It's a whole set of different tools though. In the mean time I'm having fun playing on PC's, so this definitely helps.

Thanks again!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandman[SA]
post May 26 2005, 01:58 AM
Post #9


RCBot Waypointer
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 987
Joined: 15-September 03
From: Philadelphia
Member No.: 19



QUOTE (DarthSailor @ May 25 2005, 12:29 PM)
Check your link Sandman. It didn't work for me, but I did find it.

I just dubble checked the link I posted and it is working fine for me. Maybe the site was down when you checked it? Who knows.

Anyway, I use an older version of HDD Software's hexediter version 2.0 because I don't need any of the newer features. I actually still have the installer but the file is 1mb in size so I can't upload it here.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2019 - 12:05 AM