IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

19 Pages V « < 13 14 15 16 17 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Latest DLL, win32 Metamod Debug dll
Cheeseh
post Sep 9 2004, 10:19 AM
Post #281


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,051
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



you are not using meta mod, this is a metamod only dll
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
paradox
post Sep 9 2004, 12:14 PM
Post #282


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-September 04
Member No.: 397



well ....wtf, so there is no better bot than the rcbot file on the site? =/
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Sep 9 2004, 05:50 PM
Post #283


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,051
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



The fileo n this forum is a Beta file (not a release) it will work only with metamod, I recommend that you use the beta as long as you know how to use it.

Skitchy: Install that visual studio, soldier!!!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 9 2004, 11:14 PM
Post #284


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



But but but... My server's been up for like 30 days.. I'm approaching my old mark of 42 days! blink.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 11 2004, 10:17 PM
Post #285


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



I don't recall doing anything spectacular to my server, but all of a sudden it's not crashy, and has been up for 85 hours. Sooooo.. I dunno. blink.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lyran
post Sep 17 2004, 03:55 AM
Post #286


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 27-April 04
Member No.: 295



Ok I've downloaded the new DLL file, but its name is back at the old one, ends with "mm". The other one that was updated what that HPB one.

Are the changes made in HPB also are in that new DLL ? Because I just don't know which one to use. Logically...the new one. But still...just want to be sure.

Thanks guys. wink.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Snake_Doc
post Sep 17 2004, 09:14 PM
Post #287


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-June 04
Member No.: 331



Before I download the newer code and try to install it on my server I wanted to ask this question.
Will the new version of the bot still run with version 3.0 b4?
Because no one that plays on the server that I run wants the server updated to the v5.
So im sorry to be in here irritating you all but Cheeseh will this new beta dll work fine with v4?
Thanks all and sorry to be a bother to the community

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Sep 17 2004, 11:54 PM
Post #288


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,051
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



yes, yes and yes.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 18 2004, 12:30 AM
Post #289


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



I haven't put on the new DLL myself yet, waitin' for a crash as usual, but did you tweak the combat code for the new system yet? Cause the bots have wood to be gorges.. I don't think I've seen one of em go anything but gorge now that beta 5 came about.. cause when an alien dies, it reverts to skulk, and it gets its evolution points back.. not its upgrade points though..

And you can only evolve once per life, so if you go gorge, you'll have to die to go lerk, fade, or onos, and you can go straight from skulk to lerk, fade, or onos.. obviously....

But as it stands the marines have a gigantic advantage over the aliens in combat maps. Especially when my goddesses are on the marines team.. user posted image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 19 2004, 06:39 AM
Post #290


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



You know what would be awesome... if you put in code that let us define the botses upgrades.. and then if we don't define them, it's random, as it is now..

That would be killer sexy. happy.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandman[SA]
post Sep 19 2004, 07:42 AM
Post #291


RCBot Waypointer
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 987
Joined: 15-September 03
From: Philadelphia
Member No.: 19



That sounds interesting. But here is something else that may warrent thought. I know support for other plugins is usually fround apon but, what I have noticed a lot is the extralevels plugin is getting used mainly on bot servers. I wouldn't mind seeing a bot attempt to get upgrades past level 10 if thier is any.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 19 2004, 08:51 AM
Post #292


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



I hate that plugin. laugh.gif Everyone always goes level 3 hmg, jp, level 3 armor, etc and onos with every upgrade there is. Makes the matches kinda bland. tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 29 2004, 10:31 AM
Post #293


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



QUOTE (LordSkitch @ Sep 19 2004, 06:39 AM)
You know what would be awesome... if you put in code that let us define the botses upgrades.. and then if we don't define them, it's random, as it is now..

That would be killer sexy.  happy.gif

::points up:: Cheeseh, I'll send some chick to your house to give you unnameable pleasures if you do that.. or... well I'll think of something to give you tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gruuunt
post Sep 29 2004, 11:30 AM
Post #294


Advanced Moron
****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 286
Joined: 21-December 03
From: Droitwich Spa, Worcestershire, Uk
Member No.: 143



QUOTE (LordSkitch @ Sep 29 2004, 11:31 AM)
::points up:: Cheeseh, I'll send some chick to your house to give you unnameable pleasures if you do that.. or... well I'll think of something to give you tongue.gif

I'm sure Cheeseh isn't that desperate, although I sense that you MAY just WANT this plugin supported?? wink.gif

Any pictures or lists of the pleasures though, just in case the plugin gets supported and we will Know what we need to bribe Cheeseh laugh.gif

God it's quiet around here - where is everyone lately? I know Sandy has had enough of waypointing for Whichbot 'cause of beta 5 and Metamod issues... ph34r.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Sep 29 2004, 07:30 PM
Post #295


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



Nono, not the plugin, just definable upgrades in the botses profiles. That way I can tailor their upgrades to a specific regimen...

Cause as it stands now, the alien bots can only go gorge (they still think you need to go gorge to go to the other classes,) and I've noticed a lot of the marine bots will get like level 3 armor, level 3 lmg, no resupply, like.. freakin.. mines or something.. just a rather craptastic random draw..

Sometimes they'll go level 3 hmg, resup, jetpack, etc and then they're actually hard..

I just wish there was some way to override the randomness of the upgrade picking... so my goddesses can get the same upgrades I do, and be an unstoppable force of she-bot power! laugh.gif

And Sandypants is still runnin' B4A

...and who'd turn down unnamable pleasures?! biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MarD
post Oct 1 2004, 06:20 AM
Post #296


RCBot Fan
****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 139
Joined: 30-September 04
From: Canada EH?
Member No.: 419



Heyyo,

Cheesh, I wanna say, RCbot's fun with NS and Sven Coop! I have doom 3, but I'm too addicted to Sven coop with RCbot! lol, I'm even starting to waypoint up all the SC single player maps. tongue.gif

If you check my post in the waypoints section, it says I'mma little confused by what exactly the "check for lift" flag does, n' some lift button probs (it doesn't like levers tongue.gif ).

I also wanted to add, you know those 3 headed tentacle things? the ones you have to kill by activating the rocketboosters? well, the bots keep shooting it even after it hides its heads, so the bots run outta ammo, n' then the dreaded 3-headed tentacle thing pops up n' kills em' all, so I was wondering if you could fix that up. If not? np, it's still funny to watch em' run around n' get killed by the tentacles. laugh.gif

also, I think that you need to work on your ladder code, cause for the ladders where you have to exit to the left or right, your current ladder code doesn't work good for those. Cause if you place the ladder waypoints vertical to eachother, the bots tend to go down instead of up. sad.gif I read your readme for ladders, n' what I noticed is for the ones you exit on the left or right, if you place 1 ladder at the top n' that's it, it tends to work ok. but it still sometimes takes the bots a bit to finally start climbing the ladders. tongue.gif I suggest the ladder movement from other bots such as the PODbot series, cause those ladder waypoints were meant to be vertical to eachother, n' tend to work great (insept sometimes when the bots don't climb high enough at the top of the ladder waypoints. sad.gif )
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gruuunt
post Oct 1 2004, 02:16 PM
Post #297


Advanced Moron
****

Group: Waypointers
Posts: 286
Joined: 21-December 03
From: Droitwich Spa, Worcestershire, Uk
Member No.: 143



Hey Skitchy - I've been meaning to ask, do your bots wear dresses? unsure.gif

I mean Goddesses... did you have to get someone to do the models? blink.gif

Just trying to imagine a rine in heavy armour and a tutu! rolleyes.gif

Only Joking - my warped sense of humour is on the up and causing brain gel to goo out of my ears. I said I was getting bored!

Anyway did ya get adminicon to work in the end (The spies are out ph34r.gif )? not managed it my self yet - sigh
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cheeseh
post Oct 1 2004, 05:30 PM
Post #298


Admin
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,051
Joined: 11-September 03
From: uk
Member No.: 1



check for lift waypoint is for lifts at the TOP point. because you don't want bots not pressing the elevator button and not waiting for it, falling to their death.

Ladders are difficult all the time because you don't know what direction the ladder is at, so you don't know what way to face. Usually bots find the ladder wall and take it as that to look at, but not all ladders have a func_wall next to them. My way is to put the top ladder futher into the edge so the ladder direction is visible to the bot by simply following the path on a 2D axis. The bots still have problems at the bottom of a ladder somtimes they don't manage to start climbing which is the main problem.

The bots shooting the tentacle things is an easy fix.

Btw, I haven't touched the bot yet for weeks, maybe I'm losing interest , I still have plenty of time on my hands though to work on it unsure.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordSkitch
post Oct 1 2004, 09:53 PM
Post #299


I cuddle with my bots.
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Alvin, Texas
Member No.: 291



I thought about making a mod to allow another model for the bots, some sort of sexy lady one, then force the download on clients, and make the bots use that one if they're marine, and their name is listed in a text file somewhere...

AdminIcon is workin' fine for everyone except the bots, and I think I could fix it, but I got no idea what the crap program that guy used to compile the thing, cause hes a Linux freak... so I'm gonna see if I can move it over to VC++ and recompile it.

I know the bots CAN have icons, cause on occasion, something weird happens, and a bot gets an icon... and all I need to do is copy the

if textpart (string, "STEAM_0", 6)

section, and redo it to...

if textpart (string, "BOT", 2)

then tweak the code so it just reads "bot" and applies the icon to everyone with the steamID bot.

And as for the ladders, I have a new technique that is disturbingly sexy, and extremely reliable. Lemme open up corel and start haxing out some of my ultra leeto haxor drawings.

Ok, I got some.

See, in the first one here, we got the unwaypointed ladder from the side.

user posted image

The usual way to do it, drop a normal waypoint some ways back, drop another waypoint for the ladder bottom, drop a waypoint at the top that.. I usually did a wallstick/ladder combo, to make it so the skulks and lerks have extra supporting code to get up that ladder...

user posted image

It's seemed to work sexifully for me, but recently I've noticed marines not using those, and bots getting stuck on them. Skulks also need a straight trajectory cause they're goin full speed, and jump, and a lot of times get stuck on the edges... so here

user posted image

Add a wallstick waypoint directly behind the ladder waypoint, drag the pathway up from the ladder to each of the waypoints, then drag the pathway from each waypoint off to a normal waypoint beyond the two.

Lemme do a 3d one

user posted image

Alright there, we'll go from right to left in order of whats what

1stNormal -> 2ndNormal
2ndNormal -> LadderBottom
LadderBottom -> LadderTop
LadderBottom -> WallstickTop
LadderTop -> 3rdNormal
WallstickTop -> 3rdNormal

I've done this and have had disturbing success with the ladders I've done it on. All the aliens and marines have gotten up it every time I've watched, except for once, there was a skulk that jumped out of alignment and got stuck, but just squeezing the 2nd normal closer to the ladder bottom waypoint fixed it.

And also.. Never ever ever ever ever put the same path down as up for ladders.

A bot will go down, and a bot will go up, get stuck, and stay there for a very long time! So, do this instead.

user posted image

The bot will run off to the side, and jump down to the next level. Now, I usually have them crouch or whatnot if it hurts them, unless its a combat map. Cause they have regen/resup so often, whats a little damage now and again... but always make a separate path down than up. ALWAYS!

Okay, I'm done here, time to go do stuff and be useful... unless I have more posts to do biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandman[SA]
post Oct 1 2004, 11:29 PM
Post #300


RCBot Waypointer
*****

Group: Moderator
Posts: 987
Joined: 15-September 03
From: Philadelphia
Member No.: 19



Skitchy, you saw me do that alternitive pathway on ns_tanith on that ladder near west access, didn't you? laugh.gif But, I see you took it a step farther with the wallstick waypoint. Genious!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

19 Pages V « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st December 2021 - 12:10 PM